The District Police Rawalpindi is one of the vital units of Punjab Police and presently, Mr. Abbas Ahsan head of the District Police. 1 SSP operation, 1 SSP Investigation and 3 DSPs are working in the district for the help of CPO. Total 30 police stations are presently operational, 8 out of them are model police stations. The head of each police station is an officer of the rank of Inspector, called Station House Officer (SHO). These police stations are supervised by 11 subdivisions. The head of each subdivision is of the rank of Assistant/ Deputy Superintendent of Police. Consequently, these subdivisions are supervised by 3 divisions called Rawal, Saddar & Potohar. The head of each division is of the rank of superintendent of police. 

The district is located in the neighbourhood of Islamabad, which is a very vulnerable area due to the VVIP movements. To control and ensure safety of these movements we have a security division headed by superintendent of police. 

Furthermore, the district police is operationally augmented by district detachment of other wings of the provincial police like Elite Force (Commando Unit), Counter Terrorism Department (CTD), Special Branch (Intelligence Unit), Punjab Highway Patrol (PHP) and Traffic Police. The heads of these specialized wings are responsible to lead all local operational matters and report to the Provincial Police Headquarter (PHQ).